Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Copyright: Fair Use, Public Domain, and More

Copyright

Article I, Section 8, Clause 8 of the United States Constitution, states: "The Congress shall have power...To promote the progress of science and useful arts, by securing for limited times to authors and inventors the exclusive right to their respective writings and discoveries..."

U.S. copyright law gives all creators near perfect control over their creation, with a set of rights that only they may exercise. These include the right to make copies, to prepare derivative works, to publicly distribute, display and perform the work, and (in the case of digital sound recordings) to perform the works over a digital network. (source)

For an overview of copyright and issues related to education and fair use, we recommend reviewing:

There are four ways that you can use copyrighted material:

Public Domain

Fair Use

Permission

  • You can contact the copyright holder for permission. Note that the creator is not always the same person as the copyright holder.
  • Sometimes the holder will proactively label their work with permission to reuse with or without restrictions (for example:creative common licenses). 

TEACH Act

Selected Sites for Allowed-to-Use Resources

Please note that not all materials listed on the sites below are in the public domain or have the permission of the creator for you to use. It is the responsibility of you, the individual using the material, to determine copyright status.

This is not a comprehensive list!  There are many more places to find content on the web.

Textbooks

Images

Other Image Ideas

  • Government agencies
  • Presidential libraries, other special libraries, or archives
  • Library of Congress Collections, especially American Memory and the Print & Photo Reading Room
  • Digital libraries -- see Wikipedia's List of Digital Library Projects
  • New York Public Libraries: Public Domain Collections
  • Books, newspapers, and magazines published earlier than 1923, or between the years 1923-1963 if copyright was not renewed. Use the "advanced keyword search" in Randall Library's Catalog to find materials published before a certain date.

Audio

Other Audio Ideas

  • Sheet music collections
  • Traditional songs or folk music created, or in existence before, 1923

Video

  • The Internet Archive - Many of the digitized films in the Prelinger Archive, accessible through the Internet Archive, are available for nearly unrestricted non-profit use.
  • YouTube Creative Commons videos - Start by running a search. Then, open the "filters" and refine results to "Creative Commons." 

Other Video Ideas

  • Special libraries
  • The U.S. National Archives and Records Administration has a list of finding aids for locating materials in Presidential libraries and other special collections

Text

Other Text Ideas

  • Books, newspapers, and magazines published earlier than 1923, or between the years 1923-1963 if copyright was not renewed (use the "advanced search" in Randall Library's Catalog to find materials published before a certain date)
  • Again, special libraries and archives will have many materials
  • While not public domain materials, there are several publishers and web sites featuring authors whose works are available for free download. See the Internet Archive's Text Archive for more information.

Canvas Module

Randall Library has created a Canvas module* entitled "Using Images from the Web." This module will introduce your students to the legal and ethical principles surrounding the use of online media.

To install the module into your Canvas course, open the Canvas Commons and search for either the module title ("Using Images from the Web") or just "Randall Library."  You can preview the module before importing and will be able to edit / customize it afterwards. 

*Note: this content is already included in the ENG 101 library modules