Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Religion in Southeast North Carolina

Summary

This guide identifies collections belonging to religious entities, such as churches and clergy, as well as others who maintained collections with religious content. These include UNCW professors who taught religion, writers whose works have a religious focus, and individuals who were involved with various religious organizations. Religions including Catholicism, Judaism, and multiple Protestant denominations, such as Episcopal, Presbyterian, and Methodist are represented. Most churches are local to Southeast North Carolina. Material includes church documents, financial ledgers, birth and death records, meeting minutes, grave information, sermons, programs, publications, and correspondence.

Also included are collections and content from military chaplains, who serve as the military’s religious leaders, taking care of service member spirituality and morality. These chaplains served in all branches of the military, in nearly every major conflict throughout the last century. Their personal experiences are shared through their collections and/or oral history interviews. Collection material includes records, correspondence, photographs, publications, memorabilia, and oral histories. Subject matter covers education, time in the service, religion, war injuries, life after the military, personal stories, and memorial events.